Nominations sought -- J. Franklin Jameson Archival Advocacy Award

15 Jan 2016 8:52 AM | Krystal Thomas (Administrator)

Established in 1989, this award honors an individual, institution, or organization that promotes greater public awareness, appreciation, or support of archival activities or programs. The individual's or institution's contributions may take the form of advocacy, publicity, legislation, financial support, or a similar action that fosters archival work or raises public consciousness of the importance of archival work. Contributions should have broad, long-term impact at the regional level or beyond. Up to three awards may be given each year.

Recent Winners:

  • 2015: Adrena Ifill Blagburn
  • 2014: LGBT Center of Central PA History Project; National History Day
  • 2013: Dr. Warren Stewart
  • 2012: Eve Kahn, Bebe Miller, Phillip Stewart
  • 2011: “Who Do You Think You Are?” (NBC)
  • 2010: The Gladys Krieble Delmas Foundation
  • 2009: Ross King (Georgia Historical Records Advisory Board)
  • 2008: Data-Intensive Cyber Environments (DICE)

Eligibility: Nominees must be from outside the archives profession. Individuals directly involved in archival work, either as paid or volunteer staff, or institutions or organizations directly responsible for an archival program are not eligible for this award.

Mailed materials must be postmarked by February 28, 2016 and should be sent to:

J. Franklin Jameson Archival Advocacy Award Committee
Society of American Archivists
17 North State Street, Suite 1425
Chicago, IL 60602-4061

Nominations may be submitted electronically; please see the nomination form for details. For more information on SAA awards and the nominations process, please go to:

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software