Call for Applicants for the Oliver Wendell Holmes Travel Award

08 Jan 2015 10:47 AM | Krystal Thomas (Administrator)
Purpose and Criteria for Selection:
Established in 1979 (and modified in 1991), this award enables overseas archivists, who are already in the United States or Canada for training, to augment their experience by traveling to the Annual Meeting of the Society of American Archivists.

Archivists who reside outside of the United States.

Sponsor and Funding:
The Society of American Archivists Foundation, in honor of Oliver Wendell Holmes, who joined the National Archives staff in 1935 and served in many capacities, including that of executive director of the National Historical Publications Commission. Holmes was a Fellow of SAA and past president.

Application Deadline and Nomination Form:
All applications shall be submitted to SAA by February 28 of each year. Download the RTF nomination form here:

A certificate and a cash award consisting of the income of the prize fund for that year, which is divided between or among recipients.

First Awarded:

Recent Winners:
2014: Not awarded
2013: Weimei Pan (China)
2012: Georgia Barlaoura (Greece) and Lara Mancuso (Brazil)
2011: Patrick Ansah (Ghana) and Umi Asma' Mokhtar (Malaysia)
2010: Elaine Goh (British Columbia, Canada)

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software